Don’t cry for me Vuvuzela (A selection of short snappy vignettes on the world Cup)

The World Cup just wouldn’t be the World Cup without the Brazilians…(no pun intended)

If Carlsberg did irony…

Another glorious summer, another World Cup.  And as usual the supermarkets, off-licences and pubs hope to make a killing – maybe quite literally in some cases – by a heart attack or cirrhosis of the liver. 

Yes, during every World Cup we’re inundated with special offers on crates of beer, wine, pizzas, crisps and countless other junk foods to consume while we watch the football.

 How ironic it is then that as the world’s elite of fit, athletic young men participate in a noble, healthy pursuit, many of those watching and cheering them on indulge in unhealthy, ignoble pursuits, guzzling beer by the can and stuffing their faces with crap.  As the horizontally rich but follically poor comedian Alexei Sayle might say “It’s a funny old world”.

Don’t cry for me Vuvuzela

Up until a couple of weeks ago I thought Vuvuzela was an oil-rich South America country with a fat loud-mouthed clown as president whose team never qualifies for the World Cup. 

 Now it’s as if  the football stadia in South Africa have been invaded by swarms of angry bees.  Love them or hate them they’ve certainly created a buzz in the air at the World Cup.  It’s not just Wayne Rooney who has a bee in his bonnet.

The president of Vuvuzela?

Carry on World Cup

Having been following the World Cup quadrennially since I was a wide-eyed 8-year old back in 1982, I’ve noticed that in almost every tournament there’s at least one player with a funny name – ie one that would amuse a schoolboy or a “Carry On” film scriptwriter.  Purely from memory I’ve compiled a selection:

 1982 – Lopez Ufarte (Spain)

1986 – Cha Bum Kun (South Korea)

1994 – Stefan Kuntz (Germany)

1998 – Stefan Effenberg (Germany)

                                                                                                               2002 – David Seaman (England)

                                                                                                               2010 – Danny Shittu (Nigeria)

I’m splitting my sides just thinking about them.

10 comments

  1. I knew they were familiar. I went to Vuvuzela once, before Chavez began trumpeting the revolution. It was great.
    Where else could you spend an evening at the theatre, in the Amazon, by the Orinoco, with a detatchment of naval cadets, hundreds of miles form the sea.
    A strange and wonderful place.

  2. A fascinating country by all accounts, BWT. Pity they didn’t qualify for the World Cup as we could have a classic tomgue-twister “Venezuelan Vuvuzelas”.

  3. Although I’m not a big soocer fan I like those Brazilian supporters!

    They can blow my vuvuzela any time.

    Now that our boys are out I might even look about tickets for the next Brazil match. Ellis Park’s just down the road from me. I just need to find my Portuguese phrasebook…

  4. Stoffels, if I remeber correctly you described soccer as a game for ladyboys not so long ago. You’ve certainly changed your tune, but if you carry on with these infantile, puerile comments you may well be getting a yellow card!

  5. Stoffels, pay no attention to CW. I’m entirely on your side there!

    Portugal was once a strong ally of your people in the days when it ruled Mozambique, so it’s good that you’re keeping cultural ties alive.

  6. Jeeena, I know football is quite popular in India even thought the national team has never played in a World Cup. So who are the Indian football fans cheering on in this World Cup?

    1. It’s a toss-up between Brazil and Argentina. I’m not sure about the sub-continent, but in my state, the fever’s picking up. There are Brazil and Argentina townships with posters and flags of those countries!
      I was supporting England and hugely disappointed when Germany thrashed them – my heart was really broken. Now, looks like I’ll be on the opposition and support Brazil. Me hubby supports Argentina.

  7. The Brazillians are always a joy to watch, Jeena. Argentina also have a strong team when Messi, Rodriguez and Tevez are on form and certaily have a god chance of winning as long as Maradona can keep his compoure and refrain from imploding! Germany, Netherlands, Spain and even Uruguay still in the running too, so the outcome will be vry difficult to predict!

Leave a Reply

