The exact change

A few days ago on my way back from work, I stopped off at a supermarket to do some light shopping.  I won’t say which supermarket it was, but it shares its name with a well-known pint-sized Belfast musician who has a reputation for being grumpy and with the late lead singer of a popular American 1960s rock band with pyromanical tendencies. who popped his clogs while in the bath and is now buried in a famous Parisian cemetery.

Anyway, I only had a few things to buy, namely a four-pack of tomatoes, a three-pack of small tins of tuna, a French loaf and some oranges.  The total bill came to £4.11.  I had notes in my wallet, but wanted to use up the spare change in my pocket if possible.  I fished around in my pocket for the change and found I had exactly £4.11 , not a penny more, not a penny less.  An amazing coinicidence – or maybe not depending on your point of view.  Probably not a particularly interesting anecdote, and for that matter, probably not even worth blogging about.  But there you go.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

