Freebies and the Sunday papers

Hardly a week goes by these days without one of the Sunday papers giving away a free CD, DVD, book or squirrel. I must admit that I do take advantage of these offers to the extent that I end up buying papers like the Mail or News of the World which I would never usually touch with a bargepole let alone read. In fact my Sunday morning trip to the newsagents now consists of a perusal through the press where I decide on what paper to buy on the strength of the freebie it happens to be giving away. Many of these free gifts end up in the charity shop eventually as once I’ve had my fill of listening to the CD or watching the DVD I have no further use for them. However, as I type these words, in the background I can hear the strains of Nigel Kennedy’s violin playing Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, courtresy of a free CD in one of yestereday’s rags. I’m no expert or conoissuer of classical musical, but I have a particular fondness for Vivaldi after either reading or hearing something on the radio to the effect that his music helps stimulate creative thinking.  For the record (no pun intended), Pavarotti, Blondie, The Stranglers, Ray Davies and Peter Gabriel have al made their way into my CD collection via the Sunday press. However I’ve also accumulated a backlog of DVDs over the years which I struggle to find the time to watch. Menzel’s Closley Observed Trains, Lang’s Metropolis, Hitchcock’s The Man Who Knew Too Much, Wargnier’s Indochine, Halstrom’s My Life as a Dog, the news events of 1978, Eisenstein’s Battleship Potemkin and Galton & Simpson’s Hancock’s Half Hour/Steptoe & Son all await with baited breath. But no doubt I’ll be scouring the newsagents next weekend to see what delights lie in store. It’s becoming almost like an addiction.

One comment

  1. I believed that only Italian newspapers and magazines were using this tactic to increase their selling volumes.
    You know, Italians are known worldwide for being not much reading lovers and I believed that the gadgets inside the magazine were the only way to convince people.
    Well, so far I’ve never been attracted by low-end gadgets such as cheap CDs or DVDs. But I found really interesting when one of our many newspapers bundled a whole encyclopaedia week by week for three months. For only 10 euros more we could by a volume each Monday.

Leave a Reply

